Browsed by
Month: June 2025

Foremost’s Embedded Ball Ruling Needs a Bath

Foremost’s Embedded Ball Ruling Needs a Bath

I. Embedded Ball Review F was delighted to hear directly from a few Readers re his embedded ball Ruling. Even the experts were in some disagreement. Following are some of the comments: 1) If the ball was in the Red Penalty Area, R17 rather than R7 would apply. Applicable language: R7.3 to identify, must first mark, and cleaning allowed only to the extent needed to identify R14.3 dropping a ball and taking relief (I.e., under R 17 from RPA), may…

Read More Read More

Where’s the Penalty Area? … Red Arrows

Where’s the Penalty Area? … Red Arrows

1. Facts: A Short Memory Despite the gracious and restrained Ruling issued recently by Foremost in favor of opponent AN (an opinion , by the way, for which F was widely criticized), AN showed no such mercy for Foremost who was the principal in a somewhat confusing ball identification incident. (See, CM comment re F’s prior Ruling): F hit a high, slicing drive which clearly landed right of the cart path on the Par 5 17th Hole at HCC. It…

Read More Read More

Too Close to Call?

Too Close to Call?

As the dinner line starts inching its way around the corner at the Ugly Dog, Foremost knows that prime golf season in the mountains is at hand, as the length of the dinner line generally foreshadows a rise in Rules grumblings from the area golf courses. These grumblings are, of course, pleasant at first, as the serious club competitions are only just beginning. A Reader may or may not be surprised to hear that F was a party to, or…

Read More Read More